19. AUGUST – 09. SEPTEMBER 2023




Michael Rotschopf (© Mirjam Knickriem)

Michael Rotschopf (© Mirjam Knickriem)

Friday , 08.09.23 - 8:00 pm

Juan Crisóstomo de Arriaga: Sinfonía a gran orquesta
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: "A Midsummer Night's Dream" incidental music op. 61

Though his work as an artist, teacher, researcher and project initiator, the 81-year-old Catalan gambist, conductor and HiP expert Jordi Savall has contributed significantly to a new way of looking at music of past eras. Along the way, forgotten masterpieces are often brought out of oblivion. For example, the symphony by Juan Crisóstomo de Arriaga, who died in 1826 at the age of only 19. It shows an astonishing talent for delicate harmonies and distinct timbres - no wonder that the Basque composer was considered the »Spanish Mozart«. After this musical holiday greeting from his homeland, Savall and his orchestra Le Concert des Nations, founded in 1989, show that they have in the mean time worked their way up to Romanticism. Inspired by Shakespeare's »A Midsummer Night's Dream«, a teenage Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy wrote a brilliant overture, which he expanded 17 years later into a ravishing piece of incidental music. Discover what new details and accents Jordi Savall will elicit from the colourful, dazzling world of fairies, elves and goblins and their fantastic emotional turmoil!

Le Concert des Nations
Flore Van Meerssche
Diana Haller mezzo-soprano
Michael Rotschopf speaker
La Capella Nacional de Catalunya (rehearsal: Lluís Vilamajó)
Jordi Savall conductor

Tickets: € 80 / 70 / 55 / 40 / 20 (reduction 20 %)

supported by NORDMETALL