28. AUGUST – 18. SEPTEMBER 2021

»Sinfonische Meisterwerke«



»Sinfonische Meisterwerke«

Philippe Herreweghe (© Michiel Hendryckx)

Philippe Herreweghe (© Michiel Hendryckx)

Thursday , 16.09.21 - 8:00 pm

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony No. 40 G minor KV 550
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 3 E Flat major op. 55 »Eroica«

Estimated concert duration 85 minutes

With their shared admiration for Joseph Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven are rightfully credited with developing the symphony into a highly sophisticated art form in its own right. Mozart’s penultimate Symphony No. 40 is, along with his Symphony No. 25, one of the only two he wrote in a minor key. With darkness and melancholy at its core, sadness and gloom become so overwhelmingly beautiful, the door to Romanticism is opened. Then, with Beethoven’s “Eroica”, there was no going back. It blew up all previous conventions around scope, dynamics, formal structure and intonation. At the helm of his period-instrument Orchestre des Champs-Elysées, the sensitive analyst and master of musical expression Philippe Herreweghe is always looking to uncover those special, subtle nuances in the music. With his refreshing approach, you can be sure that this year’s “Musikfest-Preis” laureate Herreweghe will not just scratch the surface of these two revolutionary masterpieces, he will completely remove the thick layer of varnish, bringing unexpected never-before-heard details to life – truly something to look forward to!

Orchestre des Champs-Elysées
Philippe Herreweghe Conductor

Tickets: € 80 / 60 / 40 / 25 (reduced 20 %)

supported by Bankhaus Neelmeyer, OLB-Stiftung and Waldemar Koch Stiftung